Buy Parking  |  Shop  |  Join

Ornamental Plant Materials Certificate Program

In the Ornamental Plant Materials Certificate program, students develop knowledge of the ever-expanding variety of ornamentals well-suited for Northeastern Illinois. The program covers more than 500 plants, focusing on identification, cultural requirements, and use in gardens and the broader landscape.

Who should participate? Avid amateur gardeners and plant enthusiasts, aspiring horticulture professionals, horticulturists, garden designers, and landscape architects seeking professional development. There are no prerequisites for this program, and no prior horticulture experience is needed.

Download a program brochure
Download a course overview chart

Current Courses

Online registration is unavailable 24 hours prior to the class start date. You may still register by calling (847) 835-8261.

Class Title Start Date Supply List
More Herbaceous Perennials Wed., Jul. 13 - 6:30 pm
Ground Covers and Vines Study CD Tue., Jul. 19 - 6:30 pm
Ground Covers and Vines Tue., Jul. 19 - 6:30 pm
Ground Covers and Vines Garden Walk A Thu., Jul. 21 - 9:00 am
Ground Covers and Vines Garden Walk B Sat., Jul. 23 - 9:00 am
Late Summer and Re-Blooming Perennials Sat., Aug. 6 - 1:00 pm
Mushroom Identification Wed., Sep. 7 - 1:00 pm
Botany 1 Wed., Sep. 7 - 6:30 pm
Ferns for the Chicago Regions Tue., Sep. 13 - 6:00 pm
Deciduous Trees Tue., Sep. 13 - 6:30 pm
Deciduous Trees Study CD Tue., Sep. 13 - 6:30 pm
Deciduous Trees Garden Walk A Thu., Sep. 15 - 9:00 am
Deciduous Trees Garden Walk B Sat., Sep. 17 - 9:00 am
Overview of Plant Propagation Sat., Oct. 1 - 1:00 pm