Parking  |  Tickets  |  Donate

Ornamental Plant Materials Certificate Program

In the Ornamental Plant Materials Certificate program, students develop knowledge of the ever-expanding variety of ornamentals well-suited for Northeastern Illinois. The program covers more than 500 plants, focusing on identification, cultural requirements, and use in gardens and the broader landscape.

Who should participate? Avid amateur gardeners and plant enthusiasts, aspiring horticulture professionals, horticulturists, garden designers, and landscape architects seeking professional development. There are no prerequisites for this program, and no prior horticulture experience is needed.

Download a program brochure
Download a course overview chart

Current Courses

Online registration is unavailable 24 hours prior to the class start date. You may still register by calling (847) 835-8261.

Class Title Start Date Supply List
Espalier Basics Sat., Dec. 3 - 9:00 am
Business of Gardening Sat., Jan. 21 - 10:30 am
Trees and Shrubs with Winter Interest Tue., Feb. 28 - 6:30 pm
Botany 1, Spring Afternoon Session Mon., Mar. 6 - 2:00 pm
Botany 1, Spring Evening Session Mon., Mar. 6 - 6:30 pm
Junipers, Arborvitaes, and Yews Tue., Mar. 7 - 6:30 pm
Deciduous Flowering Shrubs Study CD Tue., Mar. 14 - 6:30 pm
Deciduous Flowering Shrubs Tue., Mar. 14 - 6:30 pm
Deciduous Flowering Shrubs Thursday Garden Walks Thu., Mar. 16 - 9:00 am
Deciduous Flowering Shrubs Saturday Garden Walks Sat., Mar. 18 - 9:00 am
Dwarf Conifers Sat., Apr. 8 - 1:00 pm
Best New Annuals for 2017 Sat., Apr. 15 - 1:00 pm
Annuals and Biennials Study CD Tue., May. 2 - 6:30 pm
Annuals and Biennials Tue., May. 2 - 6:30 pm
Annuals and Biennials Thursday Garden Walks Thu., May. 4 - 9:00 am
Annuals and Biennials Saturday Garden Walks Sat., May. 6 - 9:00 am