Garden Design Certificate Program

This unique curriculum provides the knowledge and skills you need to succeed as a garden design professional. It features a solid foundation in plantsmanship and science-based gardening techniques, both of which are essential to creating successful gardens for a wide spectrum of projects, — from private residences to municipal plantings.

Who should participate? Aspiring professional garden designers, and gardeners and garden designers seeking professional development. There are no prerequisites for this program, and no prior horticulture experience is needed.

Download a program brochure
Download a course overview chart

Current Courses

Online registration is unavailable 24 hours prior to the class start date. You may still register by calling (847) 835-8261.

Class Title Start Date Supply List
Plant Health 1, Winter Session Tue., Jan. 13 - 6:30 pm
Garden Design Implementation Wed., Jan. 14 - 6:30 pm
Graphics, Winter Session Thu., Jan. 15 - 6:30 pm
Business of Gardening Sat., Jan. 17 - 1:00 pm
Introduction to Professional Practice, Winter Session Wed., Jan. 21 - 6:30 pm
Gardening Techniques: Session B Sat., Jan. 31 - 7:30 am
Botany 1, Spring Evening Session Mon., Mar. 2 - 6:30 pm
Deciduous Flowering Shrubs Study CD Tue., Mar. 10 - 9:00 am
Deciduous Flowering Shrubs Tue., Mar. 10 - 6:30 pm
Deciduous Flowering Shrubs Thursday Garden Walks Thu., Mar. 12 - 9:00 am
Deciduous Flowering Shrubs Saturday Garden Walks Sat., Mar. 14 - 9:00 am
Gardening Techniques: Session C Sat., Mar. 28 - 7:30 am
Soil Basics: Spring Session Thu., Apr. 9 - 6:30 pm
Principles of Garden Design, Spring Session Wed., Apr. 22 - 6:30 pm
Annuals and Biennials Study CD Tue., May. 12 - 9:00 am
Annuals and Biennials Tue., May. 12 - 6:30 pm
Annuals and Biennials Thursday Garden Walks Thu., May. 14 - 9:00 am
Annuals and Biennials Saturday Garden Walks Sat., May. 16 - 9:00 am