Garden Design Certificate Program

This unique curriculum provides the knowledge and skills you need to succeed as a garden design professional. It features a solid foundation in plantsmanship and science-based gardening techniques, both of which are essential to creating successful gardens for a wide spectrum of projects, — from private residences to municipal plantings.

Who should participate? Aspiring professional garden designers, and gardeners and garden designers seeking professional development. There are no prerequisites for this program, and no prior horticulture experience is needed.

Download a program brochure
Download a course overview chart

Current Courses

Online registration is unavailable 24 hours prior to the class start date. You may still register by calling (847) 835-8261.

Class Title Start Date Supply List
Soil Basics: Spring Session Thu., Mar. 27 - 6:30 pm Supply List
Gardening Techniques: Session C Sat., Mar. 29 - 7:30 am Supply List
Principles of Garden Design, Spring Session Wed., Apr. 16 - 6:30 pm Supply List
Section and Elevations Mon., Apr. 21 - 6:30 pm Supply list
Botany 2, Spring Evening Session Mon., Apr. 21 - 6:30 pm Supply List
Small Flowering Trees Study CD Tue., May. 13 - 6:00 pm
Small Flowering Trees Tue., May. 13 - 6:30 pm Supply List
Small Flowering Trees, Garden Walk A Thu., May. 15 - 9:00 am
Small Flowering Trees, Garden Walk B Sat., May. 17 - 9:00 am
Hardscape Basics Thu., May. 22 - 6:30 pm Supply list
Introduction to Grading and Drainage Wed., Jun. 11 - 6:30 pm Supply list
Ground Covers and Vines Study CD Tue., Jul. 8 - 6:30 pm
Ground Covers and Vines Tue., Jul. 8 - 6:30 pm Supply list
Ground Covers and Vines Garden Walk A Thu., Jul. 10 - 9:00 am
Ground Covers and Vines Garden Walk B Sat., Jul. 12 - 9:00 am