For Families

Spring Break Camp

Children in grades K-5 engage in exciting indoor and outdoor activities while exploring the Garden as it begins to bloom.

Spring Break Camp is Full

Children will participate in high-quality learning activities with experienced teachers who use inquiry-based, hands-on activities.

Mon, 03/31/2014 - 09:30 to 15:00
Interest: 

Winter Break Camp

Children engage in exciting indoor and outdoor activities while exploring the Garden as it takes a long winter's nap!

Repeats every week every Monday and every Thursday and every Friday until Fri Jan 03 2014 .
Mon, 12/23/2013 - 09:30 to 15:00
Thu, 12/26/2013 - 09:30 to 15:00
Fri, 12/27/2013 - 09:30 to 15:00
Mon, 12/30/2013 - 09:30 to 15:00
Thu, 01/02/2014 - 09:30 to 15:00
Fri, 01/03/2014 - 09:30 to 15:00
Interest: 

Weekend Family Class: Homemade Ice Cream

Get an up-close look at one of the world’s tiniest seeds from the vanilla orchid, make a batch of ice cream, and pot up a plant that can flavor ice cream.

Sunday, February 16, or Saturday, March 1
9:30 – 11 a.m. or 1 – 2:30 p.m.

Get an up-close look at one of the world’s tiniest seeds from the vanilla orchid, make a batch of ice cream, and pot up a plant that can flavor ice cream.

 

Repeats every 13 days until Sat Mar 01 2014 .
Sun, 02/16/2014 - 09:30 to 11:00
Sat, 03/01/2014 - 09:30 to 11:00
2014 - 13:00
Interest: 

Weekend Family Class: Hot Chocolate

Examine the cacao tree, learn how bitter beans make delicious desserts, mix up an ancient Aztec chocolate, and take home chocolate mint and chocolate pepper plants.

Saturdays, January 18 or February 1
9:30 – 11 a.m. or 1 – 2:30 p.m.

Uncover the story of chilies and chocolates—products that come from South American plants! Examine parts of the cacao tree, learn how bitter beans make delicious desserts, and mix up several different kinds of historic chocolate drinks, even an ancient Aztec version. Take home a chocolate mint and a chocolate pepper plant to concoct your own creations.

Repeats every 2 weeks until Sat Feb 01 2014 .
Sat, 01/18/2014 - 09:30 to 11:00
Sat, 02/01/2014 - 09:30 to 11:00
2014 - 13:00
Interest: 

Weekend Family Class: Gumballs & Superballs

Find out how people use parts of rainforest trees to make chewing gum and rubber. Create your own bouncing ball and flavorful gum to take home.

Saturday, March 29, or Sunday, April 6
9:30 – 11 a.m. or 1 – 2:30 p.m.

Find out how people use parts of rainforest trees to make chewing gum and rubber. Create your own bouncing ball and flavorful gum to take home.

Repeats every 8 days until Sun Apr 06 2014 .
Sat, 03/29/2014 - 09:30 to 11:00
Sun, 04/06/2014 - 09:30 to 11:00
2014 - 13:00
Interest: 

Weekend Family Class: Joyful Gingerbread

Explore all the different plants and plant parts needed to make gingerbread. Take home a future ginger plant, decorate cookies, and mix up a batch of gingerbread.

Saturdays, December 7, or December 21
9:30 – 11 a.m. or 1 – 2:30 p.m.

Plants help make delicious holiday treats—like gingerbread! Explore all the different plants and plant parts needed to make gingerbread. Take home a future ginger plant, decorate cookies, and mix up a batch of gingerbread to bake at home.

Repeats every 2 weeks until Sat Dec 21 2013 .
Sat, 12/07/2013 - 09:30 to 11:00
Sat, 12/21/2013 - 09:30 to 11:00
2013 - 13:00
Interest: 

Hanukkah Concert

The Klezmer kickoff to the holiday season that’s fast becoming a family tradition: music by the Maxwell Street Klezmer Band (includes a visit to Wonderland Express).

Sunday, December 21, 2014
11 a.m. and 1 p.m.

Alsdorf Auditorium

Advance: member/nonmember: $15/$17
Day-of: member/nonmember: $18/$20
Children 2 and under are free.
Standard parking fees apply.

Ticket price includes concert and access to Wonderland Express. The Maxwell Street Klezmer Band will perform two one-hour concerts in Alsdorf Auditorium.

Sun, 12/21/2014 - 11:00 to 12:00
2014 - 13:00

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - For Families