Horticulture

These courses cover a wide range of gardening topics, including hands-on gardening, container gardening, vegetable gardening, backyard chicken raising, pruning, shade gardening, perennial gardening, composting, lawn care, bonsai, beekeeping, edible plants, herb gardening, organic gardening, orchids, and houseplants. Daytime classes, evening classes, and weekend classes make school available for all interested Chicago-area residents.

Tea and Health

  • Start Date: Saturday, May 30, 2015 - 1:00pm

The Food Scorecard: Local and Global

  • Start Date: Saturday, June 6, 2015 - 10:30am

Summer Containers at the Garden

  • Start Date: Tuesday, June 16, 2015 - 10:00am
  • Start Date: Tuesday, June 16, 2015 - 6:30pm
  • Start Date: Wednesday, June 17, 2015 - 10:00am
  • Start Date: Wednesday, June 17, 2015 - 6:30pm

Bonsai: Intermediate-The Next Step

  • Start Date: Tuesday, June 16, 2015 - 6:00pm

Perennial Garden Care and Maintenance

  • Start Date: Tuesday, June 23, 2015 - 6:30pm

The Power of the Organic Landscape Garden

  • Start Date: Wednesday, June 24, 2015 - 6:00pm

Bonsai Specialty Series

  • Start Date: Wednesday, June 24, 2015 - 6:00pm

Bonsai Planting Slab Workshop

  • Start Date: Wednesday, June 24, 2015 - 6:00pm

The Thorny Side of Roses: Pests and Diseases

  • Start Date: Tuesday, June 30, 2015 - 6:30pm

Succulent Wreath

  • Start Date: Tuesday, July 7, 2015 - 6:30pm

Gardening for Birds and Butterflies

  • Start Date: Saturday, July 11, 2015 - 9:00am

Shade Gardening Basics

  • Start Date: Saturday, July 11, 2015 - 9:30am

Hands-on Gardening: Summer Pruning

  • Start Date: Saturday, July 18, 2015 - 8:00am

Mulches and Compost

  • Start Date: Saturday, July 18, 2015 - 1:00pm

Tropical Bonsai Workshop

  • Start Date: Wednesday, July 22, 2015 - 6:00pm

Wild World of Weeds

  • Start Date: Saturday, July 25, 2015 - 9:00am

Bonsai Basics

  • Start Date: Sunday, July 26, 2015 - 1:00pm

Bucktown Fiesta in Rick Bayless' Garden and Restaurant

  • Start Date: Wednesday, July 29, 2015 - 9:30am

Hands-on Gardening: Mulching and Edging

  • Start Date: Saturday, August 1, 2015 - 8:00am

Native Plant Primer

  • Start Date: Saturday, August 8, 2015 - 9:00am

The Organic Vegetable Garden in Autumn

  • Start Date: Saturday, August 8, 2015 - 9:30am

Preparing Your Trees for Fall and Winter Storage

  • Start Date: Wednesday, August 19, 2015 - 6:00pm

Fall Garden Care

  • Start Date: Sunday, August 23, 2015 - 1:00pm

Autumn Containers at the Garden

  • Start Date: Tuesday, September 8, 2015 - 10:00am
  • Start Date: Tuesday, September 8, 2015 - 6:30pm

Preparing Your Lawn for Fall

  • Start Date: Saturday, September 12, 2015 - 10:00am

Organic Lawn Care

  • Start Date: Wednesday, September 16, 2015 - 9:00am

Shrub Selection Basics

  • Start Date: Saturday, September 19, 2015 - 9:30am

Backstage Pass: Secrets of the Garden Wall

  • Start Date: Saturday, September 19, 2015 - 1:30pm

The Sustainable Garden

  • Start Date: Wednesday, September 30, 2015 - 1:00pm

Winter Containers at the Garden

  • Start Date: Tuesday, December 1, 2015 - 10:00am
  • Start Date: Tuesday, December 1, 2015 - 6:30pm