Horticulture

These courses cover a wide range of gardening topics, including hands-on gardening, container gardening, vegetable gardening, backyard chicken raising, pruning, shade gardening, perennial gardening, composting, lawn care, bonsai, beekeeping, edible plants, herb gardening, organic gardening, orchids, and houseplants. Daytime classes, evening classes, and weekend classes make school available for all interested Chicago-area residents.

Hydrangeas

  • Start Date: Saturday, April 11, 2015 - 9:30am

Get Started with Perennials

  • Start Date: Saturday, April 11, 2015 - 12:30pm

Growing a Cook's Garden

  • Start Date: Saturday, April 11, 2015 - 1:00pm

Living Pansy Wreath Workshop

  • Start Date: Wednesday, April 15, 2015 - 9:30am

The Organic Vegetable Garden in Spring

  • Start Date: Saturday, April 18, 2015 - 9:30am

Seed Starting Primer

  • Start Date: Saturday, April 18, 2015 - 9:30am

Organic Vegetable Gardening Series

  • Start Date: Saturday, April 18, 2015 - 9:30am

Four Seasons of Beauty: The Chicago Botanic Garden Container Series

  • Start Date: Tuesday, April 21, 2015 - 10:00am
  • Start Date: Tuesday, April 21, 2015 - 6:30pm

Spring Containers at the Garden

  • Start Date: Tuesday, April 21, 2015 - 6:30pm
  • Start Date: Wednesday, April 22, 2015 - 10:00am

Refinement Workshop

  • Start Date: Friday, April 24, 2015 - 9:00am

Organic Gardening: A Fresh Approach

  • Start Date: Saturday, April 25, 2015 - 9:30am

Keeping Your Chickens Healthy

  • Start Date: Saturday, April 25, 2015 - 1:00pm

History of Tea

  • Start Date: Saturday, May 2, 2015 - 1:00pm

Gardening in Containers

  • Start Date: Saturday, May 2, 2015 - 1:00pm

Mushrooms for People and Planet: Ancient Allies for Modern Maladies

  • Start Date: Saturday, May 9, 2015 - 10:00am

Made for the Shade Hanging Basket

  • Start Date: Thursday, May 14, 2015 - 6:30pm

Get Started With Roses

  • Start Date: Saturday, May 16, 2015 - 9:00am

The Organic Vegetable Garden in Summer

  • Start Date: Saturday, May 16, 2015 - 9:30am

Summer Garden Maintenance

  • Start Date: Sunday, May 17, 2015 - 1:00pm

Tea and Health

  • Start Date: Saturday, May 30, 2015 - 1:00pm

Summer Containers at the Garden

  • Start Date: Tuesday, June 16, 2015 - 10:00am
  • Start Date: Tuesday, June 16, 2015 - 6:30pm

The Organic Vegetable Garden in Autumn

  • Start Date: Saturday, August 8, 2015 - 9:30am

Autumn Containers at the Garden

  • Start Date: Tuesday, September 8, 2015 - 10:00am
  • Start Date: Tuesday, September 8, 2015 - 6:30pm

Winter Containers at the Garden

  • Start Date: Tuesday, December 1, 2015 - 10:00am
  • Start Date: Tuesday, December 1, 2015 - 6:30pm