Buy Parking  |  Tickets  |  Join

For Families

Family Drop-In Activities

Join us at the Regenstein Fruit & Vegetable Garden for fun, hands-on activities for families and children.

September 5 - 27, 2015
Weekends, 11 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Regenstein Fruit & Vegetable Garden Arbor

Join us for harvest activities every weekend in September, including an apple picking sensory bin for the little ones, make and take pumpkin prints, a ball toss, and sniff & guess activity for kids of all ages.

Repeats every week every Sunday and every Saturday until Sun Sep 27 2015 .
Sat, 09/05/2015 - 11:00 to 16:00
Sun, 09/06/2015 - 11:00 to 16:00
Sat, 09/12/2015 - 11:00 to 16:00
Sun, 09/13/2015 - 11:00 to 16:00
Sat, 09/19/2015 - 11:00 to 16:00
Sun, 09/20/2015 - 11:00 to 16:00
Sat, 09/26/2015 - 11:00 to 16:00
Sun, 09/27/2015 - 11:00 to 16:00

Weekend Family Classes: Winter Explorers

Plants and animals can survive outside, even in the cold winter. Explore how evergreens thrive in the cold, search for animal tracks, and make a snow catcher to use at home.

New!
Saturday, January 31, 2015
9:30 - 11 a.m. or 1 - 2:30 p.m.

Plants and animals can survive outside, even in the cold winter. Explore how evergreens thrive in the cold, search for animal tracks, and make a snow catcher to use at home. Dress for the weather; we will be spending time outside!

Sat, 01/31/2015 - 09:30
2015 - 13:00
Interest: 

Weekend Family Class: Joyful Gingerbread

Explore all the different plants and plant parts needed to make gingerbread. Take home a future ginger plant, decorate cookies, and mix up a batch of gingerbread.

Sunday, December 7, 2014 or Saturday, December 20, 2014
9:30 – 11 a.m. or 1 – 2:30 p.m.

Explore all the different plants and plant parts needed to make gingerbread.  Take home a future ginger plant, decorate cookies, and mix up a batch of gingerbread to bake at home.

Repeats every 13 days until Sat Dec 20 2014 .
Sun, 12/07/2014 - 09:30
Sat, 12/20/2014 - 09:30
2014 - 13:00
Interest: 

Weekend Family Class: Hot Chocolate

Examine the cacao tree, learn how bitter beans make delicious desserts, mix up an ancient Aztec chocolate, and take home chocolate mint and chocolate pepper plants.

Saturday, January 10, 2015 or Sunday, January 18, 2015
9:30 – 11 a.m. or 1 – 2:30 p.m.

Uncover the story of chilies and chocolates—products that come from South American plants! Examine parts of the cacao tree, learn how bitter beans make delicious desserts, and mix up several different kinds of historic chocolate drinks, even an ancient Aztec version. Take home a chocolate mint and a chocolate pepper plant to concoct your own creations.

Repeats every 8 days until Sun Jan 18 2015 .
Sat, 01/10/2015 - 09:30 to 11:00
Sun, 01/18/2015 - 09:30 to 11:00
2015 - 13:00
Interest: 

Weekend Family Class: Homemade Ice Cream

Get an up-close look at one of the world’s tiniest seeds from the vanilla orchid, make a batch of ice cream, and pot up a plant that can flavor ice cream.

Saturday, February 21, 2015, or Sunday, March 1, 2015
9:30 – 11 a.m. or 1 – 2:30 p.m.

Get an up-close look at one of the world’s tiniest seeds from the vanilla orchid, make a batch of ice cream, and pot up a plant that can flavor ice cream. There is a limit of two children per adult.

Repeats every 8 days until Sun Mar 01 2015 .
Sat, 02/21/2015 - 09:30 to 11:00
Sun, 03/01/2015 - 09:30 to 11:00
2015 - 13:00
Interest: 

Weekend Family Class: Gumballs & Superballs

Find out how people use parts of rainforest trees to make chewing gum and rubber. Create your own bouncing ball and flavorful gum to take home.

Saturday, March 21, 2015, or Sunday, April 12, 2015
9:30 - 11 a.m. or 1 - 2:30 p.m.

Find out how people use parts of rainforest trees to make chewing gum and rubber. Create your own bouncing ball and flavorful gum to take home.

Repeats every 22 days until Sun Apr 12 2015 .
Sat, 03/21/2015 - 09:30 to 11:00
Sun, 04/12/2015 - 09:30 to 11:00
2015 - 13:00
Interest: 

Fall Bulb Festival

Enjoy family activities and shop from more than 200 varieties of daffodils, tulips, alliums, and other specialty bulbs.

Welcome fall; think spring!
Year after year, this is one of the most popular family days at the Garden.

Friday, Saturday & Sunday, October 2 – 4, 2015
10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Members-only preview bulb shopping, Friday, October 2, 2015
10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Repeats every day until Sun Oct 04 2015 .
Fri, 10/02/2015 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sat, 10/03/2015 - 10:00 to 16:00
Sun, 10/04/2015 - 10:00 to 16:00

Father's Day Canoe Adventure

Take Dad for a rare opportunity to canoe the lakes of the Chicago Botanic Garden.

PHOTO: Young girl lying on the grass, lifting her paddle in the air.

Saturday, June 20, 2015
9 a.m., 11 a.m.
1 p.m.
(1 p.m. SOLD OUT)
Sunday, June 21, 2015
9 a.m., 11 a.m., or 1 p.m. (all times SOLD OUT)

Repeats every day until Sun Jun 21 2015 .
Sat, 06/20/2015 - 09:00 to 10:00
Sun, 06/21/2015 - 09:00 to 10:00
2015 - 11:00
2015 - 13:00

Dancin' Sprouts

Wendy & DB and the Band

Wednesday, July 22
5:30 – 7:30 p.m.

The FUN band is a group of musicians that back up Wendy & DB. They include Dean Rolando on piano, Geoffrey Lowe on bass, and Dennis Calito on percussion/drum sounds from around the world! This interactive band is a must-see for all children and parents!

Wed, 07/22/2015 - 17:30 to 19:30

Nature Nights: Woodland Walk

Bring a picnic dinner and spend an evening here! Discover what makes a habitat, search for signs of woodland animals, and examine plants found in the woods.

Saturdays, May 30 or June 6, 2015
5 – 7:30 p.m.

Giant oak trees, trillium, and deer all call the woods their home. You and your child will discover what makes a habitat, search for signs of woodland animals, examine plants found in the woods, and take home a woodland plant.

*Don't forget to bring a picnic dinner! Dessert is provided.

Repeats every week every Saturday until Sat Jun 06 2015 .
Sat, 05/30/2015 - 17:00 to 19:30
Sat, 06/06/2015 - 17:00 to 19:30
Interest: 

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - For Families