Parking  |  Tickets  |  Donate

Horticulture

These courses at the Regenstein School of the Chicago Botanic Garden in Glencoe, Illinois cover a wide range of gardening classes, including hands-on gardening, container gardening classes, vegetable gardening courses, backyard chicken raising classes, pruning workshops, shade gardening classes, perennial gardening courses, composting workshops, lawn care classes, bonsai classes, beekeeping classes, edible plants classes, herb gardening classes, organic gardening classes, orchids workshops, and houseplant workshops. Daytime classes, evening classes, and weekend classes make school available for all interested Chicago-area residents.

Winter Containers at the Garden

  • Start Date: Wednesday, December 7, 2016 - 10:00am
  • Start Date: Wednesday, December 7, 2016 - 6:30pm
  • Start Date: Tuesday, December 5, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Start Date: Tuesday, December 5, 2017 - 6:30pm

Juniper Workshop

  • Start Date: Wednesday, December 7, 2016 - 6:00pm

Bonsai: Intermediate-The Next Step

  • Start Date: Tuesday, January 17, 2017 - 6:00pm

Organic Vegetable Gardening Basics

  • Start Date: Saturday, January 21, 2017 - 9:00am

Beginning Seed Starting

  • Start Date: Saturday, January 21, 2017 - 11:00am

Planning Your Garden for Seed Saving

  • Start Date: Saturday, January 21, 2017 - 1:00pm

Making Your Own Seed Balls

  • Start Date: Saturday, January 21, 2017 - 1:00pm

Glass Jar Terrarium Workshop

  • Start Date: Wednesday, January 25, 2017 - 6:30pm

Introduction to Plant Families, Weekend Gardener

  • Start Date: Saturday, January 28, 2017 - 9:00am

Welcome to your Midwest Garden

  • Start Date: Saturday, February 4, 2017 - 9:00am

Chronicle of a Vegetable Garden

  • Start Date: Saturday, February 4, 2017 - 1:00pm

Introduction to Beekeeping

  • Start Date: Saturday, February 11, 2017 - 9:00am

Swarms and Swarm Traps

  • Start Date: Saturday, February 11, 2017 - 3:00pm

Backstage Pass: The Orchid Show

  • Start Date: Friday, February 17, 2017 - 8:30am

Soils: Where Are Your Roots?

  • Start Date: Saturday, February 18, 2017 - 9:30am

Orchids for Beginners

  • Start Date: Saturday, February 18, 2017 - 1:00pm

Growing Orchids Indoors

  • Start Date: Friday, February 24, 2017 - 9:30am

Fruit Trees for the Beginner

  • Start Date: Saturday, February 25, 2017 - 9:30am

Sustainable Beekeeping

  • Start Date: Sunday, February 26, 2017 - 9:00am

Bee-keep on the Cheap

  • Start Date: Sunday, February 26, 2017 - 3:00pm

Bring Your Own Bonsai Tree Workshop

  • Start Date: Wednesday, March 1, 2017 - 6:00pm

Bonsai Specialty Series

  • Start Date: Wednesday, March 1, 2017 - 6:00pm

Potting Up an Orchid

  • Start Date: Saturday, March 4, 2017 - 10:00am

The Orchid and the Pot

  • Start Date: Saturday, March 11, 2017 - 10:00am

Pruning Principles

  • Start Date: Sunday, March 12, 2017 - 1:00pm

Exciting Annuals: Getting Ready for Spring

  • Start Date: Tuesday, March 14, 2017 - 6:30pm

Success with Trees and Shrubs

  • Start Date: Saturday, March 18, 2017 - 9:30am

Soil Science and Fertilizing

  • Start Date: Wednesday, March 22, 2017 - 6:00pm

The Nuts and Bolts of Eco-Friendly Gardening

  • Start Date: Friday, March 24, 2017 - 10:00am

Backstage Pass: Flowering Spring Celebrities

  • Start Date: Saturday, March 25, 2017 - 9:00am

From the Nursery Yard to Your Yard

  • Start Date: Saturday, March 25, 2017 - 1:00pm

Spring Lawn Care for Homeowners

  • Start Date: Saturday, April 1, 2017 - 9:00am

Growing a Cook's Garden

  • Start Date: Saturday, April 1, 2017 - 1:00pm

Brambles and Berries for the Beginner

  • Start Date: Saturday, April 15, 2017 - 9:30am

Spring Containers at the Garden

  • Start Date: Tuesday, April 18, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Start Date: Tuesday, April 18, 2017 - 6:30pm

Forest Planting Workshop

  • Start Date: Wednesday, April 19, 2017 - 6:00pm

Poultry Palooza!

  • Start Date: Saturday, May 6, 2017 - 9:00am

Raising Backyard Chickens

  • Start Date: Saturday, May 6, 2017 - 9:00am

Chicken Coop Basics

  • Start Date: Saturday, May 6, 2017 - 1:00pm

Hydrangeas

  • Start Date: Saturday, May 20, 2017 - 9:30am

Summer Containers at the Garden

  • Start Date: Tuesday, June 13, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Start Date: Tuesday, June 13, 2017 - 6:30pm

Autumn Containers at the Garden

  • Start Date: Tuesday, September 12, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Start Date: Tuesday, September 12, 2017 - 6:30pm

Four Seasons of Beauty: The Chicago Botanic Garden Container Series

  • Start Date: Tuesday, December 5, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Start Date: Tuesday, December 5, 2017 - 6:30pm