Chicago Botanic Garden


Illinois Learning Standards

The Illinois Learning Standards (ILS) define what all students in all Illinois public schools should know and be able to do in the seven core areas as a result of their elementary and secondary schooling. Below is a list of our programs and the standards criteria/code each program meets in its curriculum.

Grade Level Guided Program IL Standards
Pre-K – K Discovering Plants 11AECa, 11AECb, 11BECa,12CEC
Pre-K – 2 Trains & Trees 11AECa, 12AECa; 11A1a, 12C1b
K – 2 Surprising Seeds 12A1a, 12A1b, 12C1b
Garden Groceries 12A1a, 12A1b, 12C1b
A Walk in the Woods 12B1a, 12B1b
Insect Investigations 12A1a, 12A1b,12B1a
K – 5 Science Sleuths 11A1a, 12A1a; 12C1b, 12A2a
3 – 5 Flower Lab 12A2a, 12B2a
Plant Propagation 12A2a, 12B2b
Pondering the Prairie 11A2b, 12B2a, 12B2b
Forest Fundamentals 12B2a, 12B2b
6–12 Water Quality 11A3a, 11A3c, 11A3f
Ecosystems & Adaptations 12A3c, 12B3b
Photosynthesis 11A3a, 11A3c, 11A3f
Green Buildings 11B2a, 11B2c, 1B2d, 11B2e
Grade Level Self-Guided Backpack IL Standards
K – 5 Malott Japanese Garden 11A1a; 16 E1(W); 26A1e
K – 2 Sensory Garden 11A1a, 12A1a, 12C1b
3 – 5 McDonald Woods 11A2b, 11A2d, 12B2a